On Air Now

After a rigorous process, 10 Galesburg 8th Graders inducted to Gale Scholars

The Gale Scholars Program has announced the induction of its Class of 2024. The program is a partnership between Carl Sandburg College, Knox College, and Galesburg District #205. Since 1996, the program gives a deserving Galesburg student the opportunity a tuition-free scholarship at Knox or CSC. The program is hardly a sweepstake: students must meet demanding academic standards, participate in extracurricular activities, perform community service, take a challenging academic load, and enroll in four years of summer school. The program is open to any District 205 8th grader who is a potential first-generation college graduate. Students inducted into the program this year are Lilliana Burns, Yannick Deh, Trinity Greer, Luis Hernandez, Tristan Hunt, Mattisson Jackson, Nicolas Makwala, Kenny Mensah, Skylar Wenstrom, and Sydney Zesch. The annual Induction Ceremony was scheduled to take place at Sandburg College this spring but will be moved to the fall as a result of the present social distancing regulations.

Recommended Posts


Share Contact